Handling Version Control Conflicts
A version control conflict occurs when an individual tries to submit changes made to the local version of their project that cannot be reconciled with the latest source of truth in version control.
This can happen for a handful of reasons, but most commonly is due to an individual making changes to a portion of a team project that a teammate has since made changes to. Submitting their changes without first syncing the changes of their collaborators causes a conflict.
The best way for you and your teammates to avoid conflicts is to keep auto checkout and auto undo enabled. Use Lore Best Practices to reduce project conflicts and better understand how version control works.
Conflict Prevention Warnings with Auto Checkout and Auto Undo
Lore helps avoid most conflicts by enabling auto checkout and auto undo by default when a project is created using version control.
These features work together to automatically attempt to check out an asset when a change is made to it, and automatically undo the change if the checkout fails. The system triggers a warning that this has occurred in order to prevent a conflict from occurring.
You're reading a preview
The full reference is free for BrainDeadGuild Discord members — sign in to read it all, or open the original at the source.
Sign in with your BrainDead.TV / BrainDeadGuild Discord account for full access.